Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, I’m so sorry to do this to you again! I wanted to get a new recipe up here and originally had planned on doing a cream cheese brownie, but I didn’t have any cream cheese… that would have been kinda tough, huh?? So, I had to settle on what I had on hand and as you know, or will learn to know, I always have peanut butter on hand. So I promise my next post will NOT be peanut butter and chocolate! These are really yummy and super rich and the great thing is you can make them gluten free! Mine, however, were not because I didn’t have gluten free brownies on hand.

Peanut Butter Truffle Brownies
Adapted from Betty Crocker

Brownie

  • 1 box of brownie mix (you can use gluten free)
  • Eggs, water, oil and applesauce or whatever the box calls for

My box mix called for 2/3 cups of oil so I used half a cup applesauce and the rest oil.

Peanut Butter Filling*

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (crunchy would work too)
  • 1/2 butter, softened
  • 2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp milk

Topping

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup butter

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the brownie ingredients together until blended and pour into greased pan. You can use a 9×13 inch pan for thinner brownies or 8×8 in for thicker. Bake according to package directions or until an inserted toothpick comes out almost clean. Cool completely.

Beat filling ingredients together until well blended. Spread evenly over the cooled brownies.

In a microwave safe bowl melt chocolate chips and butter for about 30-45 seconds. Mix until smooth. Spread evenly over peanut butter filling. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes or until the chocolate topping has set. Store covered in the refrigerator.

*UPDATE: After making and tasting these I feel that the amount of peanut butter filling was sort of lacking, especially if you used a 9×13 inch pan. That said, I’ve doubled the peanut butter filling recipe, but feel free to use what the original recipe called for by only making half.