Tags

, , ,

I hate raisins. I don’t like them by themselves, in cake, in breads and least of all in cookies. I have to be especially careful when picking cookies at an event or a friend’s house because what might appear to be oatmeal cookies with chocolate chips actually have raisins. Yuck. It’s trickery and I don’t like it. However, I do like oatmeal cookies so why not replace the raisins with chocolate chips, right? I mean, everything is better with chocolate. Below is a recipe I just made fresh out of the oven. It’s adapted from the recipe that comes on my Quaker Oats – Old Fashioned Oats container.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1/2 c butter, room temperature (I used unsalted)
  • 1/2 brown sugar
  • 1/2 white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 c chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbs milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugars in a stand mixer. Add the egg and vanilla. In a separate mixing bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and oats. Add the flour mixture to the butter and sugar mixture. Mix in the milk. Add the chocolate chips. I usually stop my stand mixer and mix the chocolate chips in by hand, but that’s just because my stand mixer doesn’t like chunky ingredients.

Spray a baking sheet with Pam. Drop the dough by spoonfuls onto the baking sheet. Bake for about 12-13 minutes. This will make about 24 cookies.