So I don’t know what it is lately, but I’ve been craving peanut butter and chocolate more than usual, which is saying a lot. In fact, on Pinterest I should have a board solely dedicated to PB&C! Too many things fell into place today for me to not make a dessert. For instance, I got off work two hours early. What better to do than bake?! Not to mention I have two large boxes of cake flour that need to be used up. And lastly, I got a birthday present this past week which consisted of four jumbo tips for frosting cupcakes!!! Ohhmygosh you don’t know how hard it has been not to make cupcakes for the past four days. I’ve been wanting jumbo tips to make pretty frosted cupcakes for a loooong time. Anyways, below is the recipe for the chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting I decided to make.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

For the cake
This recipe yielded 36 cupcakes

  • 1 stick butter, unsalted and at room temp
  • 2 1/4 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 3 eggs, room temp
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 cup sifted cake flour*
  • 1 cup plain, nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter, brown sugar and eggs until light and fluffy. Add in vanilla, chocolate, baking soda and salt. Next alternate adding the flour and greek yogurt. Beat until smooth. Pour in boiling water and beat until blended, on low speed, being careful not to slosh the hot water all over yourself. The batter will be really thin at this point. Scoop into lined cupcake pans.

*Note: You will need to sift the flour -before- measuring. I sifted about 2 1/2 cups into a large bowl and then spooned the sifted flour into a large measuring bowl equal to 2 1/4 cups.

For the frosting*

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter at room temp
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2-3 Tbsp milk

Cream the peanut butter and butter together. Add vanilla. Mix in powdered sugar about 1/4 cup at a time, so it doesn’t create a powder explosion all over you and your counter. Add milk as needed. I think I used the entire 3 tablespoons.

*Please just note that if you use jumbo tips like I did, you will need to triple your frosting recipe in order to frost all the cupcakes.