Hello all! Boy, do I love tortellini. It’s super easy to get from the freezer and toss into soups and salads!! Below is a recipe for Spinach Tortellini Soup. You can change up the veggies depending on what you have on hand. I do it all the time!

Spinach Tortellini Soup
Adapted from Allrecipes

  • 2 Tbsps olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 onion (I use sweet yellow onion)
  • 1 package frozen chopped spinach*
  • 1 cup carrots, julienned
  • 1 cup mushrooms (white button will do, but I prefer baby bella)
  • 1/4 tsp basil
  • 4 cans chicken broth
  • 1 package cheese tortellini
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  1. Saute garlic and onion in olive oil.
  2. Add broth, veggies and spices, bring to boil and simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add tortellini and return to boil, then simmer for 10 minutes.

*Note: I find it’s helpful to let the block of chopped spinach float in the chicken broth for a few minutes while cooking, then I’ll remove it and break it into pieces. It’s difficult to break the block if fully frozen and I always forget to leave it out beforehand to thaw a bit.